So this is my first running related blog entry, and I suppose it is fitting because I just did my longest training run ever. I ran 16.5 miles, and boy am I paying the price. My glutes are really sore even as I sit here right now, and everything I do seems to be in slow motion. It feels good though, and all the aches and pains are soreness, not injury related, which is a positive sign. I averaged an 8:55 pace, which isn't exactly great, but I was going for distance today, not speed (not to mention there were some intense hills). I am just trying to increase my total mileage before trying to get faster. I want to get the point where I am running about 40 miles a week, before I worry about speed or heart rate at all. Granted my shorter runs will be faster, but I am not going to worry too much about my pace. This is a time to listen to my body and make sure that I don't increase speed or distance too quickly. Last thing I need is an overuse injury over 6 months away... that would be foolish.
It is a little scary to think that I ran 16.5 at 8:55 and it was pretty rough, when my goal is to run 26.2 at a 7:15 pace. But then again I have a long way to go.
This past week was okay as far as training. Mondays and Wednesdays I generally have class all day, so those have become my default rest days until the days become longer and its not dark at 6, or until I suck it up and start doing some running in the morning.
Heres how the past week went:
Mon - Nothing
Tues - 9 miles starting slow, but finished the last 3ish miles probably around 8 min pace
Wed- Nothing
Thurs- No running, but did weight training for about an hour
Fri- 4 miles, and weights again
Sat- 4 miles, with some plyometric work
Sun- 16.5
This puts me at 33.5 for this past week. Not bad for right now. I want to get up to where I am doing 40 miles a week comfortably. But I don't plan on doing such long runs every sunday, so I will have to add some mileage during the week. Thurs/Fri will probably have to be where its at for now.
The best part about doing a LONG Sunday morning run is that I can eat anything for the rest of the day, and I can go tomorrow without running, without feeling guilty. Cya next week!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment